PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of switching from boots, what shoes to get?

stjarvis
08-13-2015, 16:37
Currently I've been using Asolo TPS 520 GV boots for the last two years. I love them except after hiking for about 30 miles (over a couple days) I start to get really bad metatarsal pain (balls of my feet, and ridge behind my toe joints). I've been through a bunch of different insoles trying to fix the issue, but none have, most have made it worse.

My max pack weight is just under 35lbs (with a week of food), and I've got low arches. My current guess as to what's causing my foot issues is that either the boots are too stiff, or the toe box is too narrow. I've never gotten any toe blisters from them, but who knows. So I've been thinking of switching to some trail runners. I've been looking at either the inov8 trailroc 255's or the La Sportiva Ultra Raptors. I need something durable enough to not get destroyed by the PA rocks, supportive enough for me to haul around a 35lb pack, and something that will hopefully solve my foot issue. If anyone has any suggestions, or has owned both other the shoes I'm looking at and can compare them, that would be great. (I do have an appointment with a podiatrist on the 20th to see what he thinks too)

Namtrag
08-13-2015, 16:45
Altra shoes have a very wide toe box as well. I have no experience wearing them but Just Bill does.

I just switched to Adidas Terrex Fast, and they are working well. They are what I would call a hybrid of a hiking shoe and a trail runner. I have slightly wide feet, and they fit me fine.

BirdBrain
08-13-2015, 17:01