PDA

View Full Version : Question on taking a real shower/bath on the trail

krshome
08-14-2015, 13:54
Ok I have been backpacking for many years and have tried many different ways of keeping clean on the trail. I was wondering what others are doing and using to bathe. I'm not looking for the baby wipe, wipe down or dipping in the creek but more of a soap and water cleaning away from the water source. What are you using for a water containers and how are you using them? What kind of wash rag are you using for wiping down with? Do you do you laundry at the same time with the same water? Thanks all :)

QiWiz
08-14-2015, 14:14
I also like to stay clean on trail. I bring a collapsible Sea to Summit bucket (see http://www.rei.com/zoom/ii/d8773db7-f96d-4d49-ac92-2dcc699ef9b1.jpg/440), a pack towel, and a small squeeze bottle of camp suds. I fill this at my water source and head off into the woods carrying with me my "camp/sleep clothes" until I'm out of sight of others. Then I take off hiking clothes and start with getting head/hair clean and proceed downward from there. I can get almost as clean with a mostly full bucket as I can at home, and still have enough water left over to wash out my hiking clothes (shirt, boxers, socks) which I then hang up on a light clothesline in camp. The next day I again wear the same hiking shirt, but switch to a second boxers and socks while the previous day's are finishing to dry on the outside of my pack as I hike.

Another Kevin
08-14-2015, 15:37
QiWiz described exactly my routine, except that I try to keep the water in the bucket clean for rinsing with, so the soapy rag goes in my cookpot, and the boxers and socks get soaped up in the pot and rinsed in the bucket. I use peppermint Dr Bronner's as camp suds.

In wet conditions, I carry another pair of socks and change and wash my socks at my lunch break. Yeah, in wet conditions, I can't ever get either pair dry, but clean wet socks are better than gritty, muddy wet socks.