PDA

View Full Version : Hiking AT in MD

SkeeterPee
08-15-2015, 14:19
I am just starting out with backpacking at 56. I have purchased a pack and nothing else. I'll get more gear as go, but I want to do day hikes of the AT in the next couple months where I could car camp at a nearby park. Next spring I hopefully will try some overnights. I picked up a brochure in MD about the MD section and its closeness to many other points of interest. My wife can probably hike 8 mi comfortably. There are several choices for state parks along the MD section. Any recommendations? What are some good out and back starting points, or perhaps point to point if our kids come we could leave a ca at the start and finish points.

Recommendations on the park to stay at?

Recommendations for day hikes.

Any place in the MD to NJ section would be convenient if can recommend other areas for similar camping / day hikes.

Thank you.

Cookerhiker
08-15-2015, 15:25
I am just starting out with backpacking at 56. I have purchased a pack and nothing else. I'll get more gear as go, but I want to do day hikes of the AT in the next couple months where I could car camp at a nearby park. Next spring I hopefully will try some overnights. I picked up a brochure in MD about the MD section and its closeness to many other points of interest. My wife can probably hike 8 mi comfortably. There are several choices for state parks along the MD section. Any recommendations? What are some good out and back starting points, or perhaps point to point if our kids come we could leave a ca at the start and finish points.

Recommendations on the park to stay at?

Recommendations for day hikes.

Any place in the MD to NJ section would be convenient if can recommend other areas for similar camping / day hikes.

Thank you.