PDA

View Full Version : Thru hike ?

f8259o8
08-16-2015, 21:43
I am planning on doing a thru in 2017. I hammock camp, what advice would you give? I am planning on starting in VA heading north. ( I live in Va) Then back to va and head south.

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk

g00gle
08-16-2015, 23:50
* Learn what a thru-hike entails
* Figure out what gear you need and (more importantly) what you don't need
* Read lots of the advice given in the articles (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/forumdisplay.php/364-Articles) section of the website
* Ask far more specific questions...

And those things don't have to be in that order, but that short list should help get ya started. I'm no expert, and I'm certainly not trying to be a smartass with my response, but you just asked a really open-ended question.

If you want specific answers from some of the more experienced, more knowledgeable folks around here, you should figure out some specific areas you'd like to begin with and then ask more specific questions. There's lots of great info already posted all over this site, and there's a bunch of people here that will tell you the real deal, but none of them know exactly how much you know, your level of experience, etc. Give 'em something to work with.

Oh yeah, and welcome to White Blaze! :)

Cobble
08-16-2015, 23:53
Hike. Have a blast. Keep hiking.
No seriously, that is really exciting..good for you! :banana

Just read up on gear you're thinking about buying...watch youtube reviews...ask questions in the gear forums. Make it a goal to buy gear only once 'cuz you did your homework. Nothing is worse than an expensive piece of gear not working out forcing you to buy another.

the whole hiking part...see paragraph one again. -------^

Cobble
08-17-2015, 00:00