PDA

View Full Version : Pantyhose for warmth?

susiegear
08-18-2015, 09:55
Hello, a few years ago when I worked in construction a few of us found that pantyhose were great for keeping warm. I know........guys wearing pantyhose. have any of you tried this? it seems like a great lightweight alternative for hiking in cooler temps. thoughts? Thanks!

"Susie"

g00gle
08-18-2015, 10:13
* ...imagines himself strolling down the trail in a pair of black fishnets.

Oh, boy! I'd probably be shot at first sight. :D

Just Bill
08-18-2015, 10:28
When I was a scout, we would buy men's hosiery, basically calf high pantyhose to use as liner socks as the commercial liners were very expensive and these were cheap. The "try on" socks from shoe stores work too.

Being in construction, I have run into ladies who also swore by the trick. I have heard of some runners using them as well to prevent windburn.

Unfortunately for most of us (gents in particular) if you don't shave your legs or have very fine hair wearing skin tight long underwear of any type gets very uncomfortable after a day or two. I found even a typical Duofold skintight long underwear uncomfortable to unbearable by day 3 for this reason. So if used, I size my stuff a bit loose now.

I don't have a link handy- but fishnet long underwear is very popular in Finland, Norway, etc. Many of the BPL folks seemed to get on board with it as well, though I never tried it personally. The fishnet stuff is meant to be worn under other layers though, the principal being simply that you create a layer of trapped air but let the skin breathe as much as possible. So wearing them by themselves is really only handy for your next nightclub visit.

Point being- your idea is sound... and assuming you already own them, why the hell not try them on a hike to see.