PDA

View Full Version : Need gear advice on lightening up for AT

yoyo123
08-23-2015, 16:52
I'm a backpacking beginner...I did a handful of weekend trips ~7-8 years ago, and that's about it. It was pretty fun, but as a 5'5" 100lb woman without much muscle, I really struggled with carrying all my junk, even though I tried to pack light. I'd like to get back into it now, and work up to longer trips, but now that I'm older/less durable, I need to be even kinder to my feet, knees and lower back. I figure the only way I'm actually going to enjoy this is if I travel very light. A little help?

I have a Granite Gear Nimbus Latitude Ki pack (~3.5 lbs), which I never really loved (their smallest hip belt was a bit big on me, but it was the best of many poorly fitting options at the time--I'm average height, but NARROW framed!!), a Eureka Spitfire UL tent (claims to be 37 oz, though I never weighed it), and I was fortunate to inherit a 20 degree Western Mountaineering bag (~29 oz?) from a friend. I used one of those 3/4 length foam sleeping pads, a soda can stove with a pot stand/windscreen that a friend built for my pot, and did mostly freezer bag cooking (or no cooking). Does anyone have any suggestions for me on ways to lighten this up? I'm not opposed to replacing gear/learning new skills, but I can't spend a fortune.

I hate the idea of a hammock since I toss and turn a lot when I sleep, and sleep in all positions. Would some kind of tarp be a lighter option for me than my solo tent? I do use treeking poles, if that matters..I know some tarps/tents use them. Are tarps warm enough for the entire NOBO hiking season? Mosquitoes love me, so what do I do about bug netting? I have allergies, so the idea of having an actual floor is appealing, but once I add a floor and netting, I'm basically back in a tent, right...?