PDA

View Full Version : Bottle cup lid

dirkomatic
08-24-2015, 22:01
Please forgive me if this is in the wrong forum. I'm new to whiteblaze.net, but I post occasionally on hammockforums.net :)

I won't call mine a Glacier cup, because it's a $5 one from W*M, but I finally found something I'm going to try to use as a lid and thought I'd share. I tried the Pirouette lid, but it doesn't fit my cup. The Stanley lid works and I sometimes use it if I need to, but today I was in PetSmart and saw a silicone vacuum pet food lid which fits up to 4" cans... Brought it home and it looks promising. I'm going to try it on a hike this weekend and I'll try.

BirdBrain
08-24-2015, 22:17
Do you boil water in your cup? I use the lid to my grease pot as a lid for my cup. I admit, I am puzzled by why you need a lid. This likely is causing me to post irrelevant stuff here. I boil my water, pour some water into my freezer bag, pour the rest into my cup, cover my cup with my pot cover, and slide the freezer bag into the cozy. Granted, the grease pot lid is much larger than the cup. However, it works without requiring another lid. After the water boils, the lid is no longer needed on the grease pot. Please forgive my ignorance if I missed the point of your mod.

dirkomatic
08-24-2015, 22:22
Sometimes I only take my cup and a stove. And I do have a Stanley cook set with a lid that fits this cup, which I sometimes use, but I can fold the silicone lid slightly and put it in the bottom of the cup, pack more stuff in the cup and still have a lid for boiling :)

dirkomatic
08-24-2015, 22:24
There are actually quite a few videos and posts I found on making a DIY lid from a Pirouette cookie container lid, but that doesn't fit this cup. I'm not the only one who wants a lid :)

BirdBrain
08-24-2015, 22:27
Not doubting the validity. Was honestly clueless about purpose. Not being sarcastic. I am often thick. Still am. :( Oh well. As long as the target audience grasps it, that is all that matters.