PDA

View Full Version : Design opportunity?

chiles1993
08-26-2015, 23:54
Hey Hikers!

My name is alex, and i am a product design student at virginia tech. I am looking for a senior thesis project topic.

I have completed several shorter section hikes, and while the trail guidebook was extremely helpful, we still found ourselves questioning what was ahead of us. Would there be flowing water at the next source? Have any recent hikers encountered bears? What is the weather/snow like ahead? etc...

I am considering designing a hiker communication system for long distance trails (maybe specifically for the PCT/JMT trails that receive less traffic). I want to propose a concept and get your feedback/thoughts!

Here goes... What if you could download an app on your smart phone that would be able to connect (via cord) to a system of trail posts along a long distance hiking trail. There could be one trail post roughly every 10miles or so. Your phone could remain in "airplane mode" and would never need any cell reception. As you hike you, the app would allow you to record trail conditions, water sources, etc. Then, when you plug your phone into a post to sync, it uploads your data and downloads the previous few hiker's data about upcoming miles. You now have updated accurate info about what lies ahead. (Note: the posts would not be connected via wifi or satellites. You would only be able to download trail info that was saved to that particular post.)

Thoughts? Comments? Would this be a useful system?
Alex

HooKooDooKu
08-27-2015, 01:44
Seems like what you have just described is an electronic version of a trail journal often found in shelters.

Such a "system" would come with many perils you would have to take into consideration:
1. Damage/Misuse - People have a way of damaging stuff that doesn't belong to them.
2. Vandalism - While there never seems to be a reason for it... it happens.