PDA

View Full Version : Advice: Planning First Long Section Hike.

FooFooCuddlyPoops
09-14-2015, 23:31
Hey guys!

It's me again. I am going to make a all in one thread to ask questions as I plan my first section hike on the AT.

A little about me: I am 25, gonna be 26 by the time I start this, female. Short 5'2-3. Al-bit over weight by 50 lbs. I am choosing to do section hikes along the AT because of my current schedule in life. I am a college student and spring classes let up around May - Fall picks up around August. I also work as a delivery driver for the local pizza joint.

My hiking history is somewhat Odd. I first went on my first packing trip carrying 50-70 lbs of weight worth of canned mean, fruit, soup with two friends up Half-moon mountain. It rained. We didn't make it to the top and camped out in a field. Over all, the experience made one friend hate backpacking, another kinda like it, and me...love it.

After that first trip, we averaged out with two over night trips a year.

Than that turned into, canoe camping at lake moo maw, day hiking white water canyon, old rag, bear mtn in ny, etc etc.

Overall, I have mostly day hikes under my belt, a few car camping trips, and Over night backpacking. I have never done more than a night on the trail, but have been wanting too for a very long time.

AT History:
I feel like the AT is calling to me. I want to hike. I love to hike. Every time I drive through mountains, I want to ohhh...ahhh at the change in scenery. I considered living in the mountains for a long time. I still consider running a hostel for AT Hikers just because I want to learn about them, meet, etc.