PDA

View Full Version : Into the Wild

Oppenheimer
09-17-2015, 19:04
Hey there, I'm new to this but looking into the PCT seriously to hike in the next year or next two years. How do people do these kinds of things in the sense of a job? I'm assuming the type where you can come and go as you please perhaps? Or saving enough then career break for a bit. I'm just unsure how one goes about just packing up and heading into the wild.

Leanthree
09-17-2015, 19:38
Hey there, I'm new to this but looking into the PCT seriously to hike in the next year or next two years. How do people do these kinds of things in the sense of a job? I'm assuming the type where you can come and go as you please perhaps? Or saving enough then career break for a bit. I'm just unsure how one goes about just packing up and heading into the wild.

I've been dreaming of the PCT for years now and saving/investing my money accordingly. I am lucky enough to have a good paying job and even luckier to not have a lot of worldly desires, so I've been able to save 50% of my take home income for the past 3 years by avoiding lifestyle creep and living frugally*. It will be a career break as you call it. I like to call it a sebbatical to family and freinds. This has worked for me and may work for you. There are other ways as well.

Financially, and it isn't for everyone, I'd recommend at least entertaining the ideas on the Mr. Money Moustache website and forum. The Trail Show podcasters (all triple crowners) have mentioned that website for financial advice for the distance hiking types so it isn't just from me. Generally it is about realizing how much time you are exchanging for all the crap you buy that you don't need and how you could spend less and therefor work fewer years of your life.

Demographically, I am 29 and recently married. The wife is excited to hike too. A last hurrah before kids and responsibilities and rooting somewhere.