PDA

View Full Version : Could use some general help regarding the AT please?

Smoky Spoon
09-23-2015, 14:12
A couple of you on here have mentioned that you have a lot of public trail experience, especially on the AT and said you felt you could offer me some help if I needed it and asked, this is me asking.

I am thru hiking the AT. It has been a lifelong dream, number one on my bucket list, number two is the Oregon Trail by horseback. It will be a solo hike. I am writing a book on it too.

Maybe this could of been under food or locations in the AT section but for me it is combined. I could not find where it was combined per se so my apologies if I am in error on here.

Let me give you a little background, I am truly a creature of solitude. I have extensive hiking experience, I have no problem hiking long distances and being out for long periods of time. The typical places I hike are remote and most would consider unsafe, which is actually not true but because of where they are people assume that. Anyway, as I said, I am out there where it is fairly remote and little socialization. Every now and then I run across a ranger, fellow hermit or researcher and we typically chat for around five minutes. So my public trail experience is probably a lot than most of you on here.

I am not a person who likes people and let's face it, most do not like me. I am brutally honest to a huge fault, not exactly most people's cup of tea and honestly I don't know how to quit or not fight when I think it's important. My family, spouse and friends call me the wild mountain hermit lady. So what does my editor do? Have me hIke a social trail and write a book on it. Because you know someone like me is great at making friends, look how well I have done on here. :) Please do not recommend going another time, my editor is pretty set on that.

Now for what I need help on: