PDA

View Full Version : Extra shoulder padding...

jefals
10-08-2015, 11:34
I just bought a 6L bladder. Took it on a test run yesterday. I was concerned about the way I had it hooked on -- if it was going to be wobbling around, etc. It did fine, except of course weighed down the pack, so that it was really digging into my shoulders after a while. Does anyone out there have any experience with something to cushion this?
Thanks

CenAZwalker
10-08-2015, 11:55
I have no experience with these but Zpacks has some add on shoulder pads:

http://www.zpacks.com/accessories/strap_pads.shtml

burger
10-08-2015, 12:04
A few things.

Maybe you need a bigger or better-fitting pack? If you're pack fits well, the weight should be mostly on your hips, and the shoulder straps should almost float above your shoulders, with little or no weight there.

Also, it sounds like you attached your bladder to the back of the pack. The heaviest items should be closest to your back. If you add a lot of weight to the back of the pack (far from your back), it pulls the pack back and that pulls on your shoulder. Try it inside. Or, better yet, switch to 3 2-L bladders so that you can put a couple in your side pockets and one at the top of the pack, nearest your back. I wouldn't even think about using a huge bladder like that because if you're doing a long water carry and it leaks, you're screwed. With smaller bladders, if one leaks, you'll still have the others.

jefals
10-08-2015, 12:42
I have no experience with these but Zpacks has some add on shoulder pads:

http://www.zpacks.com/accessories/strap_pads.shtml
Thanks! That looks like what I'm looking for. I appreciate it!

jefals
10-08-2015, 13:03
A few things.

Maybe you need a bigger or better-fitting pack? If you're pack fits well, the weight should be mostly on your hips, and the shoulder straps should almost float above your shoulders, with little or no weight there.