PDA

View Full Version : 2016 thru footwear for late-March start

ecp2691
10-26-2015, 15:16
Hey all,

My first real question to the community. I'm preparing for a 2016 thru NOBO looking at a late-March start. I've got a fairly light kit put together and wondering about footwear right now. In the past I've hiked in real heavy goretex Danner Light II's (4lb/pair). These are good at keeping water out and in winter, but are a bit of a footsore on longer days. I can't see myself being too happy hiking in these day after day when I hit the trail.

I've been doing all my running for 2 years now in Merrell Trail Glove 1's and really love them. I also took them out this October for 2 and a half days on the AT in southern MA and my feet were the happiest they've ever been while hiking. I can really see the advantage of hiking in lighter trail shoes, and the rocks/impact didn't seem to give me any trouble.

I want to use a similar shoe with a bit more cushion (Merrell Bare Access Trail) for my thru but have reservations about using anything other than boots in the late winter. I'm considering pairing them with some goretex socks however and testing them this winter. Of course I could always start with a more waterproof shoe and switch them out, but would prefer to stick with an option lighter than boots while still saving $$.

Anyone have any experience or advice they can lend?
Thanks

nsherry61
10-26-2015, 17:39
Use the below system for the worst, coldest, wetest and snowiest conditions and just the inner sock and barrier layer when it's not quite so cold, and just the liner sock, and shoe, and gaiter when you don't mind wet feet.

1) Wool or poly liner sock next to foot
2) Waterproof bag/sock as vapor barrier over liner sock
3) Insulating thicker sock
4) Waterproof outer layer (bag or sock)
5) Favorite trail shoe, preferably with decent tread
6) Dirty girl gator or other ankel-high gaiter

Dance down the trail with happy feet!

Dogwood
10-26-2015, 18:36