PDA

View Full Version : Tent vs Hammock

jorge99s
11-09-2015, 22:11
I'm considering investing in a hammock system and I'm trying to gather opinions from other regarding the pros and cons of hammocks. I currently use a BA Copper Spur UL1 and have been looking at hammocks from various cottage shops. I'm planning a section hike for next spring and want to get set on my sleep system soon. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks

chknfngrs
11-09-2015, 22:36
Try using a hammock before buying one to see if it's something you can swing

4shot
11-10-2015, 07:44
After years of tenting, I have been experimenting with hammocks for the last 2 years. It has pros/cons so I have not completely gotten rid of my tent and pad. Go to hammock forums. You can learn more than you ever thought possible by going to that site. If there is a get together nearby to you, you may get an opportunity to "test drive" one. Be a little careful when reading that site, some people are 'over the top" in their enthusiasm. I bought a hammock for my wife when I got mine and she never got adjusted to sleeping in a hammock so I sold hers.

It took me a good while (maybe 7-10 nights) to adjust to sleeping in one fwiw. If you are a stomach sleeper, I don't think you would like one. A back sleeper? Definitely would. You need good insulation under the hammock in addition to your sleeping bag to be comfortable, even on relatively warm evenings (60-65* F).I do like that I can quickly set up the hammock or tarp during the day as needed for a place to rest or a cooking shelter. Hope this helps.

daddytwosticks
11-10-2015, 08:07
Loved the idea and concept of hammock hanging. Tried it twice, including buying some top of the line stuff at the time (Warbonnet). I'm such a restless sleeper, I just couldn't hack it in the air. Plus there was a lot of fiddle factor in its setup, but that could have been since I was still a newbie. :)

baumfamily
11-10-2015, 08:30