PDA

View Full Version : How do you manage moisture inside your tent, sleeping bag, & jacket in constant rain?

Hiker9999
11-12-2015, 01:18
So far I have been fortunate to encounter rain that only lasts a night or sometimes on the last day of a trip. The downside is I have no practical experience in this area. How do you deal with moisture in your tent & sleeping bag if it is constantly raining for several days? Do you just pack your tent away wet & stuff it outside your bag liner/trash compactor bag? How about a down sleeping bag and down jacket that is slowing collecting moisture? Thanks.

Slo-go'en
11-12-2015, 02:34
After a few days of more or less steady rain everything gets pretty damp around the edges. Anything down goes into water proof stuff sacks along with your "dry" clothes. Since all the important things which I want to stay dry are in waterproof sacks, I don't worry about carrying my wet tent where it always goes inside my pack. Try very hard to keep wet things away from dry(ish) things when everything is unpacked.

Even when in a persistent rain pattern, you do get an occasional sunny day or afternoon and when you do, string up a line and dry everything out as best you can, while you can. And if we're talking rain on the AT here, you'll be in a town often enough to dry stuff out in a drier every 3 to 5 days.

Connie
11-12-2015, 03:40