PDA

View Full Version : November hiking????

DavidNH
11-19-2015, 15:32
It's mid or late November. The days are short with sunset near or before 5 pm. The skies are grey. it's breezy, the trees are bare, and temps are in 30's or 40's at best. So it's chilly, probably quite breezy and there is little or no snow.

Are you hitting the trail or putting the hiking boots in the closet?

If you ARE going hiking this time of year.. one I've got one question for you. WHY? wouldn't not be best to wait for brighter days?

rafe
11-19-2015, 15:36
Day hikes are cool any time of year. Views are great in winter and there are no bugs. It's a whole different scene.

Offshore
11-19-2015, 15:38
Why would you not? After all, tomorrow may never come. Fall and winter hiking are a completely different experience even on familiar trails. I am putting the summer boots away, but I'm getting out the warmer boots and the snowshoes.

Rmcpeak
11-19-2015, 15:58
I'm a teacher. I get a week off for Thanksgiving. My ex has the kids. See ya!

illabelle
11-19-2015, 16:03
We aren't equipped or experienced for November up there in NH, but down here it's a great time to be out. Chilly & breezy isn't the most fun, but November isn't always like that. Plenty of days with bright sunshine, and crisp temperatures. Last year we did a weekend hike on the AT in the Nantahalas. There was a dusting of snow in the upper elevations, and it was pretty cold. But the down sure felt cozy. :)

MuddyWaters
11-19-2015, 16:03
It's mid or late November. The days are short with sunset near or before 5 pm. The skies are grey. it's breezy, the trees are bare, and temps are in 30's or 40's at best. So it's chilly, probably quite breezy and there is little or no snow.

If you ARE going hiking this time of year.. one I've got one question for you. WHY? wouldn't not be best to wait for brighter days?

Its actually a great time behind a front. Cold nights, clear skies . Just avoid cold rain. Bare trees mean more light.

HooKooDooKu