PDA

View Full Version : Tarp Recommendation

Hosh
12-01-2015, 18:28
I am planning a 5 person, 5 day trip to GSMNP in April 2016. We'll be bring a BA CS UL4 & a UL3 as our shelters. I figured on rain, at least part of the time and was leaning towards purchasing a large flat tarp. We could use it as a common area for cooking and socializing while around a campfire. I am toying back and forth between cuben fiber and silnylon, kinda leaning towards CF since it's so darn light, but so darn expensive.

I thought a 8.5x11 would be adequate for the task and have been looking at Zpack's version. In the meantime, I am contemplating a CT thru hike in June/July 2016 and started thinking about a tarp as a primary shelter. I have no tarp experience other than painting, but I love to tinker with new gear/skills.

I read in another thread a recommendation for a shaped tarp for an inexperienced user. Pretty sure it wouldn't be great for my group application.

So, is the 8.5x11 too big for a single person shelter, especially in a high alpine environment? Is the art of pitching a flat tarp overly difficult or more a function of practicing/site selection etc? Any other vendors I should be looking at?

And, anything else I am missing.

HooKooDooKu
12-01-2015, 18:45
Well, first of all, you don't want a tarp near a campfire... especially an expensive cuben fiber tarp... to much of a chance that embers get loose and burn/melt a hole in the tarp.

My suggestion would be to get a WallyWorld blue tarp. Cheap. Yea, it might be heavy, but between 5 guys and only 2 tents, it would seem like you could handle the weight.

And even if weight is an issue, you can still get the WallyWorld tarp and practice setting it up between now and April. Then when your trip is closer and you've had some practice, you'll better know what size you want and what you can handle and be in a better position to select a light weight tarp.