PDA

View Full Version : The Heck with The Corporate World???

K-Man
12-08-2005, 22:34
So I graduated college last May and have been working in the corporate world since last August. (Aug 9 2004) I already see the pointlessness of climbing this ladder which just leads to more stress. I already have permission to take a Leave Without Pay (LWOP) in 2007 to do my thru hike. When I get to Katahdin in September 2007 I am sure the last thing I am going to want to do is go back to sitting behind a cubicle. The question is...What should I do with my life to be able to keep hiking and not be a slave to a middle manager? I have thought about working at ski lodge in VT during the off season and hiking the rest of the time. The only catch is that it's very hard to leave my cushy government job behind that guarantees me a steady paycheck, a well paid retirement, and health benefits. Should I just tough it out here and take LWOP's every five years to hike various long trails or should I just say F it and be trail trash? Can the all knowing WhiteBlaze shed some light on my philosophical dilema? :confused:

the1stranger
12-08-2005, 22:38
Want fries with that?

Spiritual Pillgrim
12-08-2005, 22:48
:bse this year i said screw my job too. sold my house and bought a travel trailer. made a 3,500 mile loop from north carolina as far north as eustis maine. it was great and virtually stress free (except gas prices sky rocketed).
i'm still not working and hope to thru hike next year. i'm trying to down shift in life and accept that material possesions are really just that, material possessions. when i get off the trail, i just want to get a job that meets basic living expenses, nothing extravagant.

i once heard about a guy who waited tables during the colder winter months and spent all his warmer summer months hiking.

bottom line is, what are you willing to give up for happiness?:)

Skidsteer
12-08-2005, 23:04