PDA

View Full Version : Southbound from Harpers Ferry winter hike

hackshear
12-10-2015, 14:56
I'm planning on section hiking solo, as of right now, from Harpers Ferry to Springer Mountain, starting sometime in the next few weeks. I'm not a novice when it comes to hiking and camping but I am in no way an expert. I did a test run with all my gear and it went well enough. Im using David Miller's AT guide.

I've had several people tell me hiking during the winter is too dangerous and to wait till spring. I think Im prepared, but would like to know if you guys think Im making a mistake or if Ill be fine as long as I follow the wool rule and layer system, using common sense when dealing with icy conditions, etc.

middle to middle
12-10-2015, 15:31
I'm planning on section hiking solo, as of right now, from Harpers Ferry to Springer Mountain, starting sometime in the next few weeks. I'm not a novice when it comes to hiking and camping but I am in no way an expert. I did a test run with all my gear and it went well enough. Im using David Miller's AT guide.

I've had several people tell me hiking during the winter is too dangerous and to wait till spring. I think Im prepared, but would like to know if you guys think Im making a mistake or if Ill be fine as long as I follow the wool rule and layer system, using common sense when dealing with icy conditions, etc.

even with a zero degree bag it will be cold. +long underware be prepared to shiver all night.

squeezebox
12-10-2015, 15:52
Any chance of finding someone to hike with? I'm mostly thinking looking after each other for hypothermia.

Gambit McCrae
12-10-2015, 15:58
southern AT is doable save the shmokes year round. Shmokes I would carry an extra 3-4 days of food, and watch the weather. If you get a bad snow, you can hang out at the shelter a day or two extra and let it melt off, take good quality 0 deg down bag( I just tested my antelope 5* and am sold on winter camping in it and my downmat 7 lw.

Coffee