PDA

View Full Version : MREs (Meal Ready to Eat)

ATmutt
12-15-2015, 10:34
Hi, all!!
I am a US Army veteran, planning to thru hike the AT starting next March/April. I am experienced with eating MREs & I would prefer to use them as my main food source on the trail. My plan is to purchase 10 boxes before I leave, compress the meals down so they're lighter & more compact, & have someone mail them to me along the way.
HERE'S MY PROBLEM:
I can't find a decent website to get them at a reasonabe price! I've found boxes of 12 being sold for $40, which is great--but its only that one type of box, with the same meals in it. I should be able to purchase different types of boxes so that I'm not eating the same meals over & over again...can anybody point me in the direction of a good place to purchase bulk MREs at a decent price??

Tuckahoe
12-15-2015, 10:59
Do yourself a favor and reconsider your plan to thru-hike on MREs. They are great for what they're intended, but way to heavy for hiking.

You will be looking at 13 to 26 ounces per meal and you can do better with DIY, off the shelf groceries, or commercial hiking meals. Additionally, there will be a lot of trash weight carried along as well.

swjohnsey
12-15-2015, 11:02
I'm a Army veteran, also. Sounds like a bad plan both the MRE and the mailing. MREs are expensive and so is mailing. There are lotsa better choices. To get adequate calories you need at least three a day, that's something like $2k in MREs.

Starchild
12-15-2015, 11:52
Another vote to reconsider, they are heavy to carry and that also ups the cost of mailing. I also remember a military study where it went into how much extra weight cuts in to miles per day so while it may be a economical solution to feed the many troops in the field, it is not a good fit for a thru hike 'mission'.

Many opportunities to obtain food as you go, will be lighter and add variety which equated to higher morale, most likely cheaper. Overall better fit for this mission IMHO.