PDA

View Full Version : Why dehydrate things separately?

Zora
12-22-2015, 13:15
Hey thar,
I'm new to dehydrating and I noticed that almost every recipe I see is made up of independently dehydrated items. Occasionally it looks like things are pre-mixed together if it's a liquidy thing like a sauce, fruit leather, etc.

I'm just wondering why, and if this is necessary. My guess would be if it is necessary, it's due to different drying times of component ingredients?

But is it strictly necessary? Say I wanted to make a stir fry of vegetables, would I still need to cook everything separate including the sauce? Or how about a saute of sweet potatoes, vegetables, meat? I would in real life just cook all the ingredients together. Just trying to understand why the recipes are the way they are.

atraildreamer
12-22-2015, 13:50
You have more flexibility in choosing a menu if you have separately dried ingredients. Also, the flavors might migrate into other food if dried together, (have an onion-flavored banana chip, anyone? :p). You can experiment with adding, or deleting, ingredients and are not stuck with the same dehydrated menu, meal after meal.

If a dish needs oil, it is better to add it at the time of final preparation, (on the trail). Oils and fats cannot be dried due to having no water content. They will turn rancid after a while.

russb
12-22-2015, 14:00
I don't dry ingredients separately. I make the full meal, and dry it all. IMO it allows the flavors to meld together. Chilies, stews, casseroles are perfect for this. For a few years now I havent even made any special recipes just to dry, I just put my leftovers from dinner into the dehydrator instead of the fridge or freezer.

Tuckahoe
12-22-2015, 14:16
Foods have different drying rates according to their moisture content and how they're prepped. Drying individually allows proper dehydration plus ingredient flexibility when cooking.