PDA

View Full Version : NANO vs MICRO vs TITANIUM spikes Need advice

Mtsman
12-22-2015, 23:29
WB,

I am new at winter hiking. I have come to know that I probably need MICRO or NANO or Titanium spikes at some point or another. I am looking at three different types right now but I am completely open to suggestions (and completely ignorant on the subject as a whole):

http://www.amazon.com/Kahtoola-nanospikes-S-NANOspikes-Footwear-Traction/dp/B00NEWYEIU/ref=sr_1_1?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1450826753&sr=1-1&keywords=ultralight+micro+spikes

http://www.amazon.com/Kahtoola-MICROspikes-Footwear-Traction-Black/dp/B00E3KNG9A/ref=sr_1_2?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1450840838&sr=1-2&keywords=microspikes

http://www.amazon.com/Vargo-T-450-Titanium-Pocket-Cleats/dp/B0178DGPN2

Of course I would like to go as light as possible but sometimes that sacrifices too much functionality and becomes useless in the field (IMHO). My main thought is for the AT NOBO in February weather (Yes, I know the perils of how foolish I am for starting at that time frame, lets forgo that part of the discussion and just chalk me up to being too stupid to understand how ignorant I am)

Opinions on the subject? Other options in this area? Do I even need them?

Thanks for the wisdom.

Learn Free or Die
12-23-2015, 18:21
I'm heading out NOBO on January 1st and I'm using the Microspikes (2015 red version - no sure what the difference is). This was on recommendation from a mountaineering friend as well as the ubiquity of reviews on their performance when traction becomes an issue (anything icy and up to a few inches of snow). From my testing so far, the microspikes are really durable, easy to put on. Strengthen those ankles because they won't move on the ground while your body will above you. When now becomes too much, snowshoes are going to be a reality for us in the Winter - you'll get it in GA, I'll get it somewhere in NC/TN.

CarlZ993
12-23-2015, 18:50