PDA

View Full Version : Thru-hike and safety concerns

ObliviousToLife
12-27-2015, 15:38
I don't mind hiking by myself so much as my parents. I want to go alone, but I still see their concerns. Anything could happen. I have a lot of experience backpacking (though not by myself) and I want to hike as safe as possible for my parents' sake. I have hiked a lot of the southern portion of the trail.

So here are my questions...

How safe is a thru-hike for an 18 yo girl?
Should I go when it is crowded or when there are few people? I want to go NOBO.
Should I just find a hiking partner even though I want to go alone?
1-10 what is the difficulty level up in New England?

Thanks! :)

egilbe
12-27-2015, 15:47
Go if you want. You are 18. You can make your own decisions. Your parents are always going to worry about you, but that is their cross to bear. Live your life. You can't remove all risk from your life, or you aren't living. The Southern part is not as difficult as the Northern part, but its not that much easier where you are going fail to complete any hikes you set your mind to.

bemental
12-27-2015, 16:17
I'm currently reading Southbound, about the Barefoot Sisters. And while it is a book about going Southbound they do a great job detailing the difficulty of the North East, as well as talk about considerations to hiking the trail as a woman.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00318D0VY/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?ie=UTF8&btkr=1

egilbe
12-27-2015, 16:27
And barefoot :-)

ObliviousToLife
12-27-2015, 16:28
Yeah, I already read it! At least they had each other! My sister would never want to come with me...LOL

egilbe
12-27-2015, 16:30
If you hike in the bubble, you will very rarely be alone. The trail is safer than the real world.

ObliviousToLife
12-27-2015, 16:33
If you hike in the bubble, you will very rarely be alone. The trail is safer than the real world.
I guess another thing is getting hurt when no one else is around. I wasn't really thinking of all the possibilities.