PDA

View Full Version : Interesting piece on how to get in shape walking-wise

minnesotasmith
12-12-2005, 01:23
I found this on another Internet forum. Here is the lead essay, and the more substantive replies.
================================================

Lessons learned walking 15.5 miles a day
<HR style="COLOR: #000000" SIZE=1><!-- / icon and title --><!-- message -->For the past five weeks, I have been walking to work. The walk is 7.78 miles one way, so about 15.5 miles round trip.

I came up with this crazy plan for a variety of reasons, but the primary reasons were:

* I have been recovering from a (minor) brain tumor for two years and became a too much a part of my furniture during that time. Time to get back into shape.

* Gas is expensive. I make good money, but I'm cheap http://www.timebomb2000.com/forums/wink.gif.

* I think we're facing a time in the near future where we're all going to be doing a lot more walking; might as well get ready now.

I've learned a number of things while I've been fine tuning this process. Hikers won't find any of these lessons to be anything new, but if long distance walking will be a survival requirement and you haven't done it, you might find these ideas helpful...

(Your mileage may vary: My walk is flat and entirely in city. I live in the PNW, where it is rainy, but not terribly cold. The walk originally took me about three hours each way, now down to two and a half hours.)

* Walking five miles is easy. I was in terrible shape when I started this, but I still found five miles to be no big deal. Miles six and seven were hard and the last half mile was really tough. This did not really change for the first few weeks of walking. For the first two and a half weeks, I only walked to work one way, as the full fifteen miles would have done damage. Figure anyone in reasonable health with two working legs can walk five miles a day, but don't plan on too much more if they're out of shape.