PDA

View Full Version : Zpacks Cuben Fiber Poncho (Rain Advice for a Novice)

TurtleTracker
01-05-2016, 01:06
Background: Novice hiker looking to attempt a NOBO thru-hike starting in late March.

I'm debating rain gear and after looking through some of the boards, it seems like there is very little consensus. I have a descent columbia rain coat and rain pants that I plan to use at the start of my hike when it's cold (It's heavy sure, but as a novice I'm more than happy to carry it for the security of keeping warmer than some lighter weight options). However, I would like to get something different for the summer time.

I'm looking at the zpacks poncho: http://www.zpacks.com/accessories/groundsheet_poncho.shtml

I can't find much in the way of AT thru-hike reviews. The benefit of this poncho in the summer is that I won't need a pack cover or leg covering. As a hammock hanger it could also act as a ground cloth as well to help keep other things clean/dry. On the downside, the fabric doesn't breath but it does have pit zips and a chest zipper.

The cost is extreme, and originally I ruled it out for that reason, but it turns out I may be able to get it as a gift...so money aside, what do you think? Are there any cons I'm missing about this poncho? Pros? Would you recommend just doing Frogg Toggs in the summer and avoiding this whole thing?

Thanks!
TurtleTracker

mtntopper
01-05-2016, 21:18
Background: Novice hiker looking to attempt a NOBO thru-hike starting in late March.

I'm debating rain gear and after looking through some of the boards, it seems like there is very little consensus. I have a descent columbia rain coat and rain pants that I plan to use at the start of my hike when it's cold (It's heavy sure, but as a novice I'm more than happy to carry it for the security of keeping warmer than some lighter weight options). However, I would like to get something different for the summer time.