PDA

View Full Version : How many of you bought the wrong gear?

kimbur96
01-11-2016, 13:42
I'm brand new at this and at times the information seems over whelming. I don't want to buy the wrong thing and waste money but at the same time at some point I have to make a decision.

For instance looking to buy my first stove. Leaning towards the pocket rocket. Gets pretty decent reviews. Not to crazy expensive. I definitely want a fuel canister stove. Alcohol in a bottle scares me, goes back to drag racing days as a kid, but I digress. Then I read about another canister stove that had a better wind screen. So I started to doubt my decision.

Am I doing too much research and just need to pull the trigger knowing I will probably at some point replace parts?

Your wisdom and input encouraged, TIA

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gambit McCrae
01-11-2016, 13:58
I have gone through 3 kits(pretty much full setups), and if money isn't the problem then everyone can give you their opinion. I am in product development as a profession, (although not in textiles), and it is very difficult to filter through all the jargon and technical reviews. I can break it down into 3 main categories for you:

1-Price
2-Durability
3-Weight

You VERY rarely find all 3 in 1 product. There is going to be a trade off along the line. That's what makes it interesting and hard to pin point on the first go because as you develop your experience as a hiker, you learn what's important to you.

As time has gone on I would say I have forfeited Durability(there is a difference in durability and quality) Batesville casket company makes the highest quality caskets on the market, but you drop a golf ball on the hood and you'll see a non durable reaction.

I have learned to take care of my stuff, and therefor durability can be sacrificed. What's the pay off in this? Its lighter, and more expensive :)

1-When I look for gear the main things I look for are:
The Company: Has the company been around for a while?