PDA

View Full Version : Food Supply in Whites

xnav
01-22-2016, 11:54
I plan to hike New Hampshire this year and have a few questions. What is the best month to avoid crowds and bugs? How much food should I plan to carry through the Whites. I have heard anything from 2 days worth to 5-6 days worth. I usually carry about 5 days worth of food, but do not want to carry the extra weight if I don't have to. I'm a section hiker and have completed the AT up to Hanover, but everyone says the trail gets much harder through New Hampshire. I'm an average hiker and usually plan approx. 15mi per day.

Puddlefish
01-22-2016, 12:16
Someone will chime in with more specific information than me, I'm a NH resident, but I tend to stick to 3,000 footers and more moderate trails thus far. So take this for what it's worth.

What kind of bugs do you hope to avoid? Black flies are early in the season at lower altitudes late spring to early summer. Higher altitudes, can last until July. They aren't much of problem in the wind, which the Whites have plenty of. For me, they buzz around my face, but rarely to never bite me, other people get chewed on. Deet helps with the bites, but they'll still buzz your face. Hike with someone taller, with a black hat, they'll be drawn to that person.

Mosquitoes are later in the season. Deet helps a lot.

I've only noticed larger crowds on weekends, especially holiday weekends, even then, it's not an obnoxious level of crowding. The highways are far worse than the trails.

http://theatguide.com/PlanNobo2010-15.html This shows one strategy for supplies at 15 miles per day. Doesn't seem to involve any long sections without resupply in NH.

dudeijuststarted
01-22-2016, 12:19