PDA

View Full Version : Compression sack sizes?

SubSquid
01-28-2016, 22:03
First off I am new to backpacking so any and all help is awesom and appreciated. Is there a good size compression sack to start off with for clothes, random gear, and food. Or just buy a few different sizes and do trial by error? Thank you.

Pajj
01-28-2016, 22:09
I use a 20 liter compression sack for my sleeping bag, and just use waterproof stuff sacks for my clothes. regular stuff sack for my tent and ziplocked first aid/toiletries plus another ziplock baggy with electronics inside a larg heavy duty food saver ziplock that can fit all other random gear if need be. I could probably just use a gallon sized ziplock bag as a pack liner but I find this works for me.
A lot of people don't like using compression sacks for their sleeping bags especially for down bags because of their weight and also of how much they compress the down. I have a synthetic sleeping bag so its not as much of a problem.

4eyedbuzzard
01-28-2016, 22:18
Most people don't use compression sacks, just a few regular stuff sacks (some use none at all) to separate food, clothing, first aid/medical, etc. Many line their packs with a trash compactor or other waterproof plastic bag to address the moisture/rain issue. It helps that stuff sacks do not wind up stuffed full so they can spread out and fill the voids in a pack. Many don't stuff their sleeping bag in a stuff sack either, they just stuff it into the bottom of the pack. It's a little less compressed which is better for a sleeping bag anyway. This way you also better utilize the entire pack and don't waste space (fills the nooks and crannies). The problem with compression sacks is that you wind up with big hard lumps that don't fill the space well in pack. It's like trying to pack three or four big balls, they don't fit together well.

SubSquid
01-28-2016, 22:28
It's like trying to pack three or four big balls, they don't fit together well.