PDA

View Full Version : First pass at gear list

dervari
02-02-2016, 14:13
Looking to do 3-4 days from Springer to Neel Gap or or Tesnatee Gap in early May and would like some critique on my first pass on the gear list. Some points to remember...

Not a "gram weenie"
Shooting for 10-11 miles per day. Easy pace.
Will most likely be wearing the same clothes the whole trip except for changing underwear and base (if applicable) on day 3 AM.
Generic clothing will include a light rain shell and extra pair of socks/underwear/base

This is my first attempt, so please be gentle. :)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8m7aiqugngnffyd/Gear%20List.pdf?dl=0

patman25
02-02-2016, 14:26
Things I would change:

Smaller pack 45-55L
Smaller tent, 3P seems like massive overkill unless you have two other people you didn't mention.
Lose the GPS
Sawyer Squeeze instead of MSR filter(added bonus of using sawyer bags for extra water capacity vs Water bottle #2)
Lose second flashlight(you have a phone for emergency backup)

Puddlefish
02-02-2016, 14:34
Looks like everything you listed is serviceable, if heavy. Maybe bring along a trash bag for extra waterproofing/rain protection.

dervari
02-02-2016, 14:43
There will be one other person with me...forgot to mention that.

DuneElliot
02-02-2016, 16:28
Things I would change:

Smaller pack 45-55L
Smaller tent, 3P seems like massive overkill unless you have two other people you didn't mention.
Lose the GPS
Sawyer Squeeze instead of MSR filter(added bonus of using sawyer bags for extra water capacity vs Water bottle #2)
Lose second flashlight(you have a phone for emergency backup)

+1 with this assessment

4eyedbuzzard
02-02-2016, 17:22