PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding trekking pole rubber tips

Bubblehead
02-10-2016, 17:14
I have a pair of Black Diamond Distance z-Poles....I will be taking them on my hike from Springer to HF in April. I am new to using trekking poles. My question is how long do the rubber tips normally last on the poles? should I take an extra pair or two of the rubber tips, or should they last the entire hike (1022miles)? Thanks....

TNhiker
02-10-2016, 17:22
it all really depends upon conditions of the ground, how you use them, and how hard you poke with them........

i really doubt a pair of tips will last over 1000 miles, but maybe....

in the smokies, its common to find tips on the ground on the more traveled trails.......

i tend to pick them up and put them on my poles, but ive never had tips last very long.....

Ashepabst
02-10-2016, 17:37
it's been my experience that they'll get snagged by rocks and mud and junk, sometimes without you even noticing. except for maybe asphalt walking --what are these things for anyway?

bemental
02-10-2016, 18:04
I do believe the rubber tips are designed to protect the tips of your trekking poles when being used on particularly hard surfaces (asphalt, concrete, etc.) and are meant more for on road use, then off road.

Some people like using trekking poles when doing general-purpose walking on flat, paved surfaces. I personally use my poles primarily for the ups, downs, and particularly rocky areas.

bemental
02-10-2016, 18:06
I do believe the rubber tips are designed to protect the tips of your trekking poles when being used on particularly hard surfaces (asphalt, concrete, etc.) and are meant more for on road use, then off road.

Some people like using trekking poles when doing general-purpose walking on flat, paved surfaces. I personally use my poles primarily for the ups, downs, and particularly rocky areas.