PDA

View Full Version : Clothing Weight

PAontheAT
02-13-2016, 21:25
Hi everyone! First time poster here!

I was wondering what is the normal amount of clothes hikers bring? Here is my current list: http://lighterpack.com/r/70opym. (http://lighterpack.com/r/70opym) Clothing is around 5 lbs.

I know I should carry less socks / underwear but this is a comfort thing for me.

Thanks!:sun

kayak karl
02-13-2016, 21:53
i never carried clothes by weight. either i needed it or i didn't. would never pull something out because it was over a number pulled out or the air.

MuddyWaters
02-13-2016, 21:55
Whats on back+ long johns, insulation and 1 pr extra socks

Most of yr, thats 1-1.5 lb

Puddlefish
02-13-2016, 22:01
Looks about right to me. A lot will depend on the weather and your starting date. I'm a thru hiking newb myself, but looks like you have most everything you need for the trail and to sleep in. Maybe add some gloves?

The Cleaner
02-13-2016, 22:05
Most hikers only carry 3-4 days of food.Most go into a town every 3-4 days for a shower,beer and a bed.Then if winter shows up everyone heads to town or hostel.Back in the early 80s you had to pack 10 days of food.Things have changed...

Feral Bill
02-13-2016, 22:11
Extras only in socks.

turtle fast
02-14-2016, 00:02
I'm not sure if you looked onto the versatility of zip off pants? You can have shorts and long pants in one and many times don't have to dig into your pack for a wardrobe change if too hot or cold. Coupled with thermals, you have a quite a few more clothing configurations.

garlic08
02-14-2016, 00:04
If you're asking about an AT thru hike, I don't think you're overdressing for a typical early spring start, especially with only a 30F quilt. If you're starting after mid-April, you should be OK.

A nice tip about packing clothing--you should be able to wear everything at once as part of a coordinated layering system. And yes, it's OK to put in an extra pair of socks and underwear.