PDA

View Full Version : How to save weight after the big 2 a beginner long distance hiker is pondering..

DavidNH
12-18-2005, 21:58
I am wondering, where does the weight really go? for those who carry or have carried a 55 pound pack..is the excess weight distributed over all items or are there 3 or four that really bring up the total?

I am a beginner long distance hiker planning on doing an AT thru next spring. I am very happy with my 5 pound Gregory Forester and I am just not going to part with it. a 2 pound go lite day pack sounds nice but it doesnt hold much! And given the heavy rain and even snow I may encounter in the south.. I have trouble imagining NOT taking a full tent. A bivy..forget it A tarp? no protection against bugs or cold, and couldn't a wind driven rain find its way in? I have hear stories about how bad it can rain in the southern apps!!!

I do know that from experience..55 pounds equals pain and slow going.
I am hoping for a weight of 35-40 fully loaded if that is possible for me.

I have a three pound early spring bag (rated to low teens) and willl switch out with a 1/5 pound summer bag (rated to high 30's (and yes will switch after Damascus...after mt rodgers).

I am right now using the good ol fasion whisper lite stove and have a msr can of white gas. Thinking of bringing 22 oz can.

How much weight to allow for food? ( i hear 2 lbs per day so that would be 10 pounds).

How much water to carry? 2-3 quarts worth my guess.

The 35 pound load vs the 55 pound load? what is the latter carrying that the former isn't? (what specific items i mean).

DavidNH

I am seeking advice here and feed back.. so please be nice!
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif

Skidsteer
12-18-2005, 22:11