PDA

View Full Version : Hiking 10-15 miles with no food/water or stopping.

denimlabels
02-18-2016, 19:21
When I started training last summer I would load up on tea & water, then eat a banana and granola and just go out and hike from start to finish. No further stops for drinks, snacks or resting, unless I had to take a wiz or adjust shoes or trekking poles.

I feel a great relief when I am done and stop to sit down. I feel tired but nothing out of the ordinary. I just have a few swigs of water and move on. My recovery time seems fairly quick within 4 to 5 hours or so.

Ive gotten used to hiking this way. I dont want to stop for anything. If my body starts to hurt or feel pain I just jack the pace down for a quarter mile or more if I have to. Am I addicted to the rush of endorphin? Is training like this just creating bad habits on the trail that will lead to injury in the end?

Keep in mind I am 6 foot and weight 255 lbs.

My goal is to do 15 miles or more per day.

Puddlefish
02-18-2016, 19:41
Risking constipation, dizziness, falls at a minimum. I don't see the point of going without water, it sounds like some kind of ill thought out 1950s toughening up football camp regime that didn't actually toughen the kids up.

denimlabels
02-18-2016, 20:00
Thats funny! But I never got dizzy, fell down or had constipation. I just always load up on food and fluid big time before my hike for the day. This actually has the advantage of starting you out slow while your body is processing all the food and liquids you just consumed.

I like hearing people on WB say they skip breakfast or dont eat until they do 5-10 miles. Yeeesh! To each is own I guess. I need to eat a breakfast every day with some hot fluids to get the fire going inside.

MuddyWaters
02-18-2016, 20:02
I hike 10-15 miles without drinking or eating now and then. But Im carrying food and water at the time. I just choose not to stop and break. Im usually goal set on reaching someplace by a certain time