PDA

View Full Version : International travel

Dinendir
02-25-2016, 08:53
Hi all,

In three weeks I'll be on the plane towards Atlanta for my thru-hike, and after getting all the gear ready I have one question left.
I'm a Belgian national, and it will be my first trip ever to the States, so I have no experience with the TSA. My main concern is that when my luggage is checked, the people of the TSA wont be able to fit everything back into my pack.
Is there any way I can prevent this? Or is this really a non-existing issue?

TexasBob
02-25-2016, 09:26
Checked baggage (not something that you have with you in the cabin of the plane) is x-rayed but not usually searched.

Leo L.
02-25-2016, 09:34
Just be prepared that the whole process will take quite some time, so be at the airport well in advance.
We had to go through the full-blown security check at least 4 times, but never had to unpack the big backpacks. It just took so long time, cueing up and being processed.
My personal impression was, that the TSA people try to do some social engineering. Anybody looking and behaving very normal, no problem. Anybody strange, they take a very close look.
So dress neatly, clean up and shave well, and be polite. Don't joke, never argue.

If they let you unload the pack on every security check - take it easy, see the advantage that you are an experienced packer then even before starting the hike.

colorado_rob
02-25-2016, 10:11
What I always to on backpacking/mountaineering flights where I have a lot of gear is take some of the "pressure" off the checked baggage by carrying on some of the gear, like most of my clothing. You could also carry your tent (but check the poles) or other soft goods like sleeping bag in its stuff sack if small enough. A plastic bag would work for the carry-on, either a disposable one, or your pack liner trash compactor bag, if you plan to use one.