PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a 2 person tent...REI? Tarptent?

MEHikerFamily
02-29-2016, 07:37
I am requesting some of the wisdom of the board. I am looking to purchase a 2 person three-season tent for an adult and a nine year old. We are familiar with REI's Quarter Dome 3 and are happy with it so far. So naturally we are considering the Quarter Dome 2. I am fairly new to the backpacking world and do not know much more about tents other than my QD3.

But upon reading past posts it seems the Tarptents are often recommended. I was checking out their website but it's a bit harder to get a "feel" for the tent when not seeing it in person.

I am wondering if anyone who is familiar with these tents could give a short list of the pro's and con's of the QD2 versus a tarptent (The Double Rainbow seems to be in my price range)?

I suppose I would be looking for the usual qualities in a tent: lightweight, low volume, ease of setup, durability, good in rain... and am looking to spend $300 or less (although I'd shell out a few extra bucks if it was *really* worth it).

I became more interested in the Tarptents as they look extremely easy to set up and would not cause much issue if I had to set up in rain.

As a note I usually do not hike with trekking poles.

Thank you.

hubcap
02-29-2016, 07:51
TarpTent's are very popular, and for good reason. You'll not go wrong with that option.
REI's QD series are and excellent choice as well.
Both tents are easy to set up, durable, great in tough weather (with seam sealing).
Pro:
The DoubleRainbow is a lighter option by about 1/2lb.
QD2 is a double walled tent

Gambit McCrae
02-29-2016, 08:29
Choose Tarptent. Its is a durable, singular owner that cares about his customers and takes care of them.

soumodeler
02-29-2016, 08:58