PDA

View Full Version : Where should I start my weird Flip Flop on April 1st?

Strummystick
02-29-2016, 21:28
What would you suggest in this scenario? I have these times available ..... [April 1st - May 20] [July 1st with no ending time] (Family weddings from Mem Day until end of June) I enjoy hiker companionship but really hate bugs, since I've seen too many of them in the past when I could only hike in New England during the summer. I also don't want to freeze! I am now a retired teacher, so there is no end game in the Fall. (62 years old ... in reasonably good shape)
I have already hiked all of the AT in MA/VT/NH, so I will probably want to save this until last. That way I will have section hiked the entire trail, even if I wish to stop at that time.
I've been thinking of this ...... Start North from Damascus on April 1st and get as far as I can by May 20th Go home to CT for Mem Day to the end of June. Start at Katahdin on July1st and hike Maine south to the NH border. Hop down to CT and continue south until I meet up with where I left off when i was going North. Hop down to Damascus and head South, finishing a sectioning of the trail at Springer. Go home to CT for a quick visit, then head South from the NH/ME border to the MA/CT border if I want to finish a true thru-hike.

colorado_rob
02-29-2016, 21:56
I have to say your plan sounds pretty good to me. The only downside is all the shuttling around. You'll have some potential for chilly weather heading through grayson in early april, but should be warmer after that in the lower VA terrain.

Strummystick
02-29-2016, 22:03
Any ideas on how I should get to Damascus from CT?

gwb
03-01-2016, 11:19
Ah, long shuttles a necessary evil of section hiking. There is a Greyhound stop in Bristol TN about 45 miles away. Look at the ATC shuttle list and call around to get an idea on price to get from Bristol to Damascus.
Have fun!! I think your plan sounds good.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bigcranky
03-01-2016, 12:36