PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a shakedown!

garebear22
03-01-2016, 00:29
https://lighterpack.com/r/5z0qt3

Doing a thru-hike of the AT about a year from now. I have my gear planned out so I can acquire the pieces over the next year.

Are there any ways I can cut weight? I think everything I have here is pretty essential, but I am by no means an expert.

Thanks,
Garrett

peterboysen
03-01-2016, 16:29
If you really want to save about 5oz, you could get a deuce of spades or similar for a trowel (or leave it behind completely and use a stick). Also, depending on how much you like your jetboil, you could also get a BRS-3000T or similar on Amazon or ebay for about $15, and that would cut an appreciable amount of weight for very little cost (the stove I mentioned is just under an ounce, though of course you'll need to count cookpot weight and all that as well then so it's not such a huge weight savings that you'll really feel it for the most part).

rainydaykid
03-05-2016, 00:31
I got my base pack weight down to 10.5 lbs, I've had to sacrifice a few things to get there. No camp clothing, less cold weather gear, no cook system(have a small ti pot for emergency water boiling, or to cook if I feel like making a fire). I do use a 20 degree synthetic bag, got screwed by down a couple of times, so I won't use a down bag anymore. It's still light for synthetic, 2lb,11oz. Otherwise, almost all my gear is ultralight, zpacks arc haul, homemade tarptent from a silnylon tarp, zpacks rain jacket, GG nightlite pad. I do carry a fixed blade knife, Folt's Minimalist, that or a Mora is the lightest I'd want to carry into the woods, but I have a lot of wilderness survival skills, and know the value of having a fixed blade knife. The minimalist is an ounce or so, and the smallest knife I'd want to try to carry into the woods.