PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a shakedown!

garebear22
03-01-2016, 00:30
https://lighterpack.com/r/5z0qt3

Doing a thru-hike of the AT about a year from now. I have my gear planned out so I can acquire the pieces over the next year.

Are there any ways I can cut weight? I think everything I have here is pretty essential, but I am by no means an expert.

Thanks,
Garrett

mattjv89
03-01-2016, 01:23
Posting this in four forums isn't necessary for it to get traffic and just kind of gums the works up.

I know nothing about hammock setups so I'll leave that to others. A couple minor things I see:

-If you are not shooting lots of video or some similar battery intensive thing a 16,000 mAh battery pack is huge. I was fine with a 6400 using my iphone for guidebook photos and music, in fact even that was bigger than I truly needed. You're never more than a few days from a wall outlet.

-Far lighter multi tools with a long enough blade for hiker tasks are available. I was really happy with my Leatherman Style, thing it's an ounce and change. I say was happy because the tradeoff is they're really easy to lose.

-If your sleep system and clothing adequate I would tend towards leaving the emergency bivy behind.

-Generally a compass is of little use on the AT but 1.1 ounces isn't much of a worry if you like having one.

garebear22
03-01-2016, 01:37
Didn't think about gumming up the forums. Went to look to delete the other posts, couldn't find a way to do so. Sorry about that. Kind of a newb here.

Thanks for the advice.

brendathompson71
03-01-2016, 15:42