PDA

View Full Version : Question over different sections.

mlandig
03-01-2016, 20:46
Hi there,

My name's Matthew, and I'm a college student in Columbus, Ohio. For a writing course I'm taking, I was given freedom to write a research paper on anything I wanted. So I chose to write about the Appalachian Trail. I'm going to be researching three different sections of the Trail each having a different difficulty. Also including what specific gear to bring and general tips. That is what leads into my question...

What are 3 different sections of the Appalachian Trail (easy, medium, and hard difficulty) I should spend time researching?

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated! I'm fairly new to backpacking so any other advice would be awesome, as well.

Thanks
Matthew

Crabapple
03-02-2016, 18:42
hard-The White Mountains in NH, and southern Maine
medium-the AT in North Carolina
easy-Shenandoah National Park in Virginia (easier trail and lodges/waysides)

Then again, any part of the trail could be easier or harder, depending on the weather, and depending on whether you're at the beginning or the end of a long hike (whether or not you have your 'hiker legs')

bigcranky
03-02-2016, 23:22
I like Crabapple's ideas, but make the medium section the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. This gives you a specific place.

Shenandoah - easy
Smokies - medium
Whites - hard

Good luck with the research.

Traveler
03-03-2016, 08:23
Hi Matthew, welcome to White Blaze!

There are two different answers you may want to consider writing about. The first is a fairly common writing topic, which is the difficulty of the trail itself, much as Big Cranky points out. To me, there is a far more interesting topic that isn't explored often but is typically what takes people off the trail or conversely, allows them to complete it. One can physically train for a long distance pursuit, but its more difficult to prepare oneself emotionally and mentally for a journey of this type.