PDA

View Full Version : Coporate Companies and the real hiker

Blister
12-20-2005, 15:00
I just wanted to open up a posting to vent my angst against coporate companies that swear to support the outdoor enthusiast and then turn around to throw dirt in their faces. There are two different recent situations that have left me with a terrible taste in my mouth.
The first is being turned down for a simple sales position at the local EMS. I was sent a form letter, being rejected for the following reasons. #1 Lack of scheduale availability #2 Lack of outdoor experience #3 Lack of retail experience. I never was even given the opportunity to speak with any of the managment team in reference to a possible schedule. For anyone who knows me, a lack of outdoor experience????? C'mon. And finally a lack of retail experience, I have been an asistant manager as well as the store manager for a couple of outlets in manchester center. Should I be offended? Do they even care that they have successfully insulted me?
Moving on to complete insults. I have met alot of amazing people in the backcountry and have the highest respect especially for those conquering some of the hardest goals. Finding out recently that two of my good friends, one of which an active member here on whiteblaze, have been the victims of uneducated mudslinging from backpacker magazine.