PDA

View Full Version : trail journal?

wannabe88
03-04-2016, 17:37
I'm thinking of doing a trail journal for friends and family that are interested.

anyone have any advice on doing this?

can I just write in my iPhone and upload when I get a connection?

AlyontheAT2016
03-04-2016, 21:58
if you mean writing in the Notes app, and then copy/paste into trail journal when you get wifi, then yes that seems like it should work just fine :)

JaketheFake
03-04-2016, 23:01
if you mean writing in the Notes app, and then copy/paste into trail journal when you get wifi, then yes that seems like it should work just fine :)

thats what I was going to do? I mean... Is there a better way?

wannabe88
03-04-2016, 23:11
thanks I'm new to blogging and kind of tech retarded for somebody my age needed some reassurance

garlic08
03-05-2016, 08:41
Practice with some preliminary posts, with photos, and ask friends and family for input.

There are pros and cons to real-time journaling. A good point is that people can find you if needed. A bad point is that people can find you if needed! And be careful about what you say about other hikers, what they're doing, and whom they're doing it with--it's a small world out there and that stuff stays around forever. The pros far out-weigh the cons, but it's good to be aware of the issues.

bigcranky
03-05-2016, 09:41
thanks I'm new to blogging and kind of tech retarded for somebody my age needed some reassurance

There are plenty of ways to do this. Trailjournals.com is a web site which will host a journal for you. Write your entries when you get to town and upload them. Plenty of hikers use TJ, and you can get something of an audience. :)