PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Backpackers 1st Setup, how'd I do?

BlueRidgeBackpacking
03-07-2016, 10:30
Hello all!

After moving to NC a year ago and doing regular day hikes I decided it was time to move into backpack hiking, something I've never done before. The majority of my hikes in the near future will be limited to 2/3 days, in NC. Here's a list of the gear I have accumulated:

1. Osprey Atmos AG 50L - Loved the comfort when I tried it on in store. On my day hikes my back was always soaked in sweat, I sweat ALOT, and the full mesh backing seemed very appealing. I've done a couple short test hikes and my back felt wonderfully cool.

2. Sierra Designs BackCountry Bed 2 season 600 fill - I am a finicky side/stomach sleeper and this unorthodox sleeping bag design seemed like it would match well with my sleeping style. I am 5'11" 205 pounds w/broad shoulders and had trouble deciding if I should go for the long (6'6") or regular (6") version. When I sleep on my stomach my feet add a few inches to my height and I was concerned I'd be pushing on the end of the bag. I also like to move around, and while I dont know for sure, I dont think I'd sleep well were I very constrained. In the end, I went with the long. I chose the 2 season over the 3 season to save money and because I thought the 3 season may be too warm in cooler months. The 2 season coupled with a sleeping bag liner seemed like it may the more versatile choice.

3. Big Agnes Double Z Insulated pad - My requirements for a pad were insulation, comfort, and lack of noise. While this pad is considered "3 season", I felt it may be necessary to have a beefier pad coupled with the backcountry bed that lacks insulation on the bottom. In my testing in 30 degreeish weather it seemed I was right, any cool spots I had seemed to be in the pad. I've even considered returning it for the new "double stuff" double z insulated pad.