PDA

View Full Version : Sams Gap to Fontana Dam Section in May

kolokolo
03-21-2016, 19:27
Hey All,

I'm planning an 8 day SB hike in May from Sams Gap to Fontana Dam. Really looking forward to the highlights like Hot Springs, Max Patch, Standing Bear, and all of the great views in GSMNP. I'm pretty sure that the mileage won't be a problem, as my longest planned day is about 21 miles, and I've done that and more in the past. I've never done this section before, though, so I don't really know how rugged the section from Sams Gap to Davenport Gap is. (I went North from Sams Gap last year, and I recall some pretty good climbs around Roan Mountain!)

Anyway, here is my SOBO plan:
Day 1 - Early shuttle to Sams Gap, hike to Jerry Cabin Shelter (17.1 miles)
Day 2 - Hike to campsite 1 mile South of Tanyard Gap (21.5 miles). Fallback is campsite at Rich Mountain
Day 3 - Short resupply in Hot Springs, continue on to Walnut Mountain Shelter (18.3 miles)
Day 4 - Standing Bear Farm (21.3 miles). Pick up mail drop.
Day 5 - Enter GSMNP, hike to Tricorner Knob Shelter (18.1 miles)
Day 6 - Mt. Collins Shelter (20.1 miles)
Day 7 - Spence Field Shelter (19.8 miles)
Day 8 - Fontana Dam (16.4 miles)

I realize that I will need to get reservations for GSMNP as soon as they're available for my dates, and I'm planning to do that.

As far as difficulty, based on what I can tell from the elevation profiles, it looks like days 1, 3 and 5 will be the toughest, with the biggest total elevation changes and some steep climbs. I'm in pretty good shape, but will need to keep things slow and steady. There will be 14+ hours of daylight, so I shouldn't need to hurry.

Since the trail goes through Hot Springs, and right past Standing Bear, I can plan on resupplies at both of those places. The most food that I will need to carry will be 4 days worth, which should get me from Standing Bear through GSMNP.

Any thoughts, comments, words of wisdom?

Can't wait to hit the trail!

just dad
03-21-2016, 20:07