PDA

View Full Version : Noravirus Outbreak in Georgia?

nogray
03-25-2016, 10:01
A friend in Georgia told me local news is reporting a noravirus outbreak in Georgia.

Me and a few family members were going to hike the Georgia section next week. What does this mean to us? I'm wondering if we should find a different section, or if we're fine as long as we use basic sanitary precautions. Feels like walking into a timebomb.

::nogray

nogray
03-25-2016, 10:01
To be clear, the outbreak is in Georgia, along the trail.

saltysack
03-25-2016, 10:09
I'd just avoid shelters and any high traffic spots....filter water...maybe add drop off bleach also? I'm no expert..just my .02....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mattjv89
03-25-2016, 10:10
You'll be fine with basic precautions. Don't shake hands with anyone, don't take food from a common source that has other people's hands in it, avoid the privies and shelters. Last part shouldn't be hard since every shelter is likely to be completely full right now.

WingedMonkey
03-25-2016, 10:32
Why would you want to take your family on the trail in Georgia in March/April?

MuddyWaters
03-25-2016, 10:44
Why would you want to take your family on the trail in Georgia in March/April?

Gotta second this.

What are you thinking?

Avoiding norovirus is simple, stay away from other people, dont touch things they touc

Jack Tarlin
03-25-2016, 10:49
I have been in Franklin for several weeks and have heard of nothing, repeat nothing of Noro south of here. In recent days, I have heard (un-confirmed, repeat, un-comfirmed) of folks getting ill just before the Smokies, like around Fontana Dam. Concerned folks should contact the Appalachian Trail Conservancy in Harpers Ferry for more information. As to the question "Why would you want to take your family on the Trail in Georgia in March/April, the answer is simple: The weather in Georgia in late March and April is usually glorious.

dudeijuststarted
03-25-2016, 11:03