PDA

View Full Version : Over-Ear headphones

jimyjam
04-03-2016, 11:05
I am looking for a pair of Bluetooth, Over-the-Ear headphones (Not earbuds...they hurt my ears) that are water proof/resistant that will withstand the punishment of an Appalachian Trail Thru Hike. Does such a thing exists? Any suggestions that do not include using earbuds are welcome and appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Life is full of ups and downs! Hike on!

poopsy
04-03-2016, 13:48
Hi,

I know what you mean about earbuds. They drive me crazy too. I don't use bluetooth while I hike 'cause it drains the battery too quickly. I've been using these constantly for about 4 years now and have been very happy with them in all kinds of weather. The jack is surprisingly tough.

http://www.sony.ca/en/electronics/headband-headphones/mdr-g45lp

poopsy

OkeefenokeeJoe
04-03-2016, 14:57
I think anyone wearing earphones on the Appalachian Trail should be rubbed down with bacon grease and chained to a tree for ... say ... three days. That is just so absurdly wrong. In the privacy of your tent? ... okay, I can stomach that, but to see people hiking the trail while wearing a set of Dr. Dre's is contrary to all things sacred about being on the trail. Plus, in my opinion, it's totally unsafe. If you want to listen to mindless music, stay home, lock yourself in your room, and have at it.

OkeefenokeeJoe

jimyjam
04-03-2016, 16:06
I think anyone wearing earphones on the Appalachian Trail should be rubbed down with bacon grease and chained to a tree for ... say ... three days. That is just so absurdly wrong. In the privacy of your tent? ... okay, I can stomach that, but to see people hiking the trail while wearing a set of Dr. Dre's is contrary to all things sacred about being on the trail. Plus, in my opinion, it's totally unsafe. If you want to listen to mindless music, stay home, lock yourself in your room, and have at it.

OkeefenokeeJoe