PDA

View Full Version : Sock Liners - Yay or Nay?

TheWhiteWalker
04-10-2016, 21:44
I have never tried sock liners before but I do see quite a bit of gear videos showing hikers with them. I do wear Darn Tough low cut socks with trail running shoes. I currently do not have any issues with that setup but I have not fully put my feet to the test of a thru hike which I will be doing soon. What's your thoughts on sock liners... Yay or Nay?

Sarcasm the elf
04-10-2016, 21:45
It's personal preference...

...I personally can't stand using them.

Turtle-2013
04-10-2016, 21:49
Almost never hike without them ... has worked well for me for 45+ years ... but if what you are doing works for you, stick with it. Or as my father (and many fathers) would say ... "It it ain't broke, don't fix it"

rocketsocks
04-10-2016, 21:50
I used to say yay, now I say nay, but it also depends, mostly a winter thing for comfort.

MuddyWaters
04-10-2016, 23:23
If u need them, use them
If u dont, dont

Pretty simple

If you have to ask, you need to get out and hike and find out if you need them.

Vegan Packer
04-11-2016, 03:33
I wear them as my socks, and I don't wear socks over them. I love the Injinji toe sock liners. Coomax material keeps my feet from getting too hot, and I haven't had a blister since making the switch.

http://www.injinji.com/liner-crew.html

bigcranky
04-11-2016, 06:55
I wore them with big heavy all leather boots and I still got blisters. When I switched to trail runners and wool socks I no longer needed liners.

chknfngrs
04-11-2016, 09:15
Only in winter, otherwise not needed imho

Bronk
04-11-2016, 09:51
I never had a blister in 850 miles on the AT and I used sock liners. Since then I've occasionally gotten a blister on a weekend trip when I haven't worn them. A cheap substitute, or if you just want to try it, buy some nylon dress socks at Walmart for a couple bucks...its the same thing.

Deacon
04-11-2016, 10:02