PDA

View Full Version : Need help selecting guide/maps for PA AT hike (complete noobie here)

C&F
04-10-2016, 22:21
Hello everyone, I'm completely new to AT hiking and need some help! I'm planning a short (2-3 days) through-hike of the AT in Pennsylvania later this month, and I'm bringing my girlfriend and possibly my dog with me. We have plenty of experience camping but this will be our first time backpacking, and I'm not sure where to start in terms of actually planning this trip. I started googling and honestly I'm just overwhelmed with all of the different websites, trail guides, maps, etc., and of course everyone wants you to pay big bucks for a subscription to give you any info.

Can someone please talk to me like I'm 5 and tell me where to start? So far my best guess is that I should buy this:

https://www.atctrailstore.org/catalog/iteminfo.cfm?itemid=30&compid=1

Am I on the right track? Basically I just need to know where we can park our car, what hostels are available and whether they are pet friendly, where all the trail head entrances are, etc.

Also any advice for some new hikers is appreciated. We are all set for gear, but other than that we are pretty unprepared.

Thanks!

SkeeterPee
04-10-2016, 23:05
there are a couple different guide books. I have the Thru-Hikers' Companion. it shows distance between various sights, road crossings, etc. shows where shelters, camping, water, and parking is located. It covers the whole AT so you may want to copy the pages you need to take with you. It also has information on each area especially towns that are nearby were people may resupply on longer hikes. It also includes an elevation profile.

There are also a series of maps you can buy for PA. you can buy individual maps or the whole state.