PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here with a question or two!

JLorenzo77
04-11-2016, 08:27
I'm excited to have found this place!

I'm a novice hiker but enjoy the activity very much. I was all set to backpack the Maryland portion of the trail later this month (I live in Maryland) when I dislocated my right shoulder 5 weeks ago. It's been 5 weeks of no hiking. My legs are fine but it's the pack weight issue. I have decided instead to do two 20-mile day hikes in a couple of weeks and had two questions for you all.

1) Has anyone ever done Maryland in two long day hikes? I've covered most of the terrain in shorter hikes and I am excited but nervous for this challenge. Fortunately I will only be carrying food and water and small items on my back and will be sleeping in my own bed.
2) Does anyone have experience with hiking after dislocating a shoulder? It's mostly fine though if I move the arm a bit in the wrong way, it reminds me that it isn't fully healed.

I see my doctor next Monday, three days before I am set to do these.

I will take my trekking poles and walk carefully.

Thanks so much for the advice and for welcoming me into your community!

-Josh

illabelle
04-11-2016, 08:54
Well, there is this, the challenge of hiking 4 states in 24 hours:

http://www.blueridgeoutdoors.com/go-outside/hiking/24-hours-in-maryland-the-four-state-challenge/

Some could do it, not me.
Welcome to WhiteBlaze Josh. Hope you stick around.
:)

rafe
04-11-2016, 09:04
Certainly doable. People do it in a day. Thru-hikers do it in two, two-and-a-half, with packs. The northernmost few miles of MD are rocky, but by and large, the trail in MD is flat and easy walking.

The site of the old Washington Monument might be a good place to end the first day and start the second, but there are several other road crossings (trailheads) you could choose from.

JLorenzo77
04-11-2016, 09:34