PDA

View Full Version : Packing Wet Single Wall Tents

RussC
04-13-2016, 09:32
Forum newbie here. I am looking at tents, and am considering several tents that are single-wall (tarptent protrail and double rainbow as well as a few others). One issue has been mentioned by a couple of reviewers: if the tent gets wet on the outside due to rain or inside due condensation and you have to pack it up, the whole tent gets wet. That is okay unless you have steady, rainy weather for multiple days and can't dry things out which lead to serious moisture problems.

I can see that this could be a problem, but I have stuffed double wall tent parts into one bag when they were damp and not had a problem with everything getting wet, though I was able to shake off the rain fly. Has anyone run into serious issues with this? Is it that big a deal if the mesh is damp? A model with a removable netting would be a solution, but sometimes simpler is better.

Thanks for any input--narrowing the field in any way would be helpful in the decision process!

Thanks,

Russ

rafe
04-13-2016, 09:54
I haven't had a situation yet where my Tarptent got overly-wet from consistent damp conditions. Closest I get was maybe last summer on the northern part of the Long Trail. It was not an issue.

Disclaimer: I rarely leave my tent in a downpour. But otherwise...

I shake it thoroughly, while it's still standing, before I take it down and pack it. It travels outside the pack, in its own stuff sack. If weather permits, I might roll it out during lunch break and give it a chance to air out or dry out.

nsherry61
04-13-2016, 10:02
. . . That is okay unless you have steady, rainy weather for multiple days and can't dry things out which lead to serious moisture problems. . .