PDA

View Full Version : How late can I start a thru-hike and still encounter a reasonable number of people?

equazcion
04-15-2016, 03:14
I'm getting a late start, and one of my fears is that there won't be very many people around. I'm starting this alone, and I'm hoping to find a group, or one buddy, or at least have other people in the general vicinity.

I've read that the latest you should start a thru-hike is the first week of May. Are there a significant number of people who actually start that late? Or later? If I aim for the last week of April, will that make any significant difference?

I'm planning on skipping the approach hike from Amicalola Falls, just to hopefully catch up a tiny bit. I'd be willing to start even further along if it'll mean bigger crowds, more of a group-ish atmosphere...

As you can see I'm a beginner and a little apprehensive about the possibility that I'll be all alone out there. Thanks for any clarity.

illabelle
04-15-2016, 04:31
If you want to be with the group, start your hike north of the Smokies, walk north with everybody else, then come back and finish the stuff you missed. If you reach Damascus, VA in mid-May for Trail Days, you'll be in the thick of things.

equazcion
04-15-2016, 04:49
If you want to be with the group, start your hike north of the Smokies, walk north with everybody else, then come back and finish the stuff you missed. If you reach Damascus, VA in mid-May for Trail Days, you'll be in the thick of things.

You rock. Thank you.

Could I ask, was there a way you figured this out, or was it just from experience? Is there a way to calculate where "the group" will (generally) be at a given time? I may need to leave the hike temporarily to travel home for a family occasion at one point, and I'll want to re-join wherever the crowd will be afterward.

Thanks again!

egilbe
04-15-2016, 06:15